Diabetes and twins and life; oh my!

I was diagnosed with Juvenile, or Type 1, Diabetes in January 1993. I became a Mother of Multiples (M.O.M) on June 22, 2015. I was always afraid that I wouldn’t be able to have children because for some reason, I let myself believe that my diabetes would make it difficult, but I couldn’t have been more wrong. While I did suffer a miscarriage during my first pregnancy, I was able to somehow grow TWO tiny human beings just a few years later. When I got pregnant, and WITH TWINS, I tried to find resources for me as a Type 1 Diabetic to help me get through my pregnancy with as much information as I could find. This proved to be unsuccessful and I decided to attempt my own informational page to give other mothers; mothers of multiples who may also be diabetic (Type 1, Type 2, or gestational) as well as mothers of multiples in general. My fraternal twin girls are one now and after surviving this first year with very little help (we are a military family, my husband serves in the United States Marine Corps so we are not close to family), I wanted to take a shot at my own blog to share my experiences and things that I’ve learned during this first year as well as in the future years.

My experiences are like anyone else’s, from figuring out schedules, to surviving cloth diapering and breastfeeding, to dealing with grandparents; this is what I have to share from my first 12 months and the next years as a mom!

Leave a Reply

